Prevent users from deleting tasks with timesheet / time tracked
building now
Log In

Vasil Enchev
updated the status to
building now
This is being built and we expect it in about 2-3 weeks: a setting that stops tasks and subtasks with tracked time on them from being deleted, so logged hours can't disappear along with the task.
Should a Workspace admin still be able to delete them, or should the block apply to everyone?
Øystein Gjerde
Vasil Enchev The most logical way would be to block for everyone. If an admin wants to delete this task, then they have to remove the tracked time first.
B
Bill Quinn
Vasil Enchev All timeslips should be deleted before the task/sub-task is deleted.
Kendra Gripp
Hey Vasil Enchev! Question on this - what if a parent task is deleted but it's the subtask that has time tracked to it? Would that still be stopped too? (I would prefer it be prevented as well)

Brendan W
Merged in a post:
Show a warning if someone wants to delete a task with tracked time
Julian Pustkuchen
Deleting a task that has tracked time can be risky and costly for the company. And it's easy to overlook. So please show a warning if time was tracked, especially billable!
Maybe this should be a setting?
Andrea Darth Flader
Yes please!! Maybe make 'archive' the only option and 'delete' gets grayed out and a pop-up explains why it can't be deleted to the user
R
Roberta Murino
It would be very helpful to also see who edited or changed the tracked time after it was submitted.
Elizabeth Manadili
Please! We are using logged time to be able to invoice our client! There has to be a way to prevent deleting a task/subtask that has logged time in it.
Mazin Alabdulkarim
The space should have an option to prevent users from deleting or editing tasks, comments, attachments, or documents, regardless of who created them, or it will reduce our dependency on ClickUp as our main workspace. Users have edited their comments and deleted some attachments in our spaces that caused as major conflicts
Fabio Walter
It would be nice to keep all tracked time separated from the task and keep just a weak reference to the original task name and task id. Since we can delete a task with time registered, we wouldn't spoil the time reports (in some cases we charge by hours).
Rebecca Burke
Yes, please.
Ivan Villa
We have advanced permissions available for ourEnterprise team that give control over who can delete, but I will pass this feedback on to the team about creating more fine grain permissions!
Martin Weinberg
Ivan Villa: Does deleting a task also delete the time tracked? Or does the time tracked still show up in time reports?
Rebecca Burke
Martin Weinberg: I found out today that it deletes the time tracked as well.
Martin Weinberg
Rebecca Burke: I had a different ClickUp rep tell me something different.
Ivan Villa can you please provide an official answer?
Ivan Villa
Martin Weinberg: When you delete a task, all of its associated content (such as images, comments, and tracked time) will also be deleted and moved to the trash, meaning that they will no longer appear in reports. To help visualize this, think of a task as a container that holds all of its associated content. When you delete the task, you are essentially getting rid of the entire container, along with its contents.
B
Bill Quinn
Ivan Villa: Exactly which is the reason for the request. I don't want to prevent users from deleting tasks with no time but we cannot lose revenue by someone deleting tasks with time.
Ivan Villa
Bill Quinn: makes sense, our advanced permissions are either delete or don't delete so we would need to add more granularity to get what you are asking for here. Will let the right team know!